Cafe Rallaren is at Myrdal Station on the Bergen Railway, 867 metres above sea level. This is the junction where the Flåm Railway joins the Bergen line.
Myrdal is the end station on the Flåm Railway and about 400,000 people pass through here between May and October each year. It is one of the biggest tourist attractions in Norway, and indeed in Europe.
Myrdal is also the end of the line for about 25,000 cyclists a year who ride the Rallarvegen – the old navvies’ road – from Haugastøl. The road was built when the Bergen Railway was being constructed, so as to give the navvies access. Cafe Rallaren seats about 80 persons, and there is also a souvenir shop. We are open from May until the last weekend in September. We serve both hot and cold dishes. We are licensed to serve beer and wine.
We offer cycle hire and can store baggage.
Rallarvegen – the old navvies’ road – is the ultimate cycling experience and has become one of the most popular cycling routes in the country. It stretches about 80 kilometres from Haugastøl in the east to Flåm in the west. There is an alternative route to Voss. Rallarvegen is really a little piece of Norway. The cycle route starts in the high mountains, continues past the Hardangerjøkul glacier, beside rivers swollen with melt water from the
mountains, follows the wild Flåm valley with its crags and waterfalls and finishes in Norway’s beautiful and well-known fjord landscape. Rallarvegen offers not only the magnificence of nature, but also a fascinating ride through culture and history. Why not take the train from Flåm to Myrdal and cycle back down the valley? On the way back down, you pass Rallarrosa summer farm, which sells its own mountain cheeses and serves simple refreshments.
For generations, Myrdal was the high-pasture summer farm for the farmers of the Flåm valley. It lay well off the beaten path and few outsiders had even heard of the place. That all changed in the late 1800s, when the Bergen Railway was built. Myrdal went from being an unknown mountain valley to the centre of the biggest building project in the country. At the most, there were 110 permanent residents here. There was a simple church and the school was built in 1920. The restaurant at Myrdal opened in 1909, in the same premises now used by Cafe Rallaren. Today Myrdal has no permanent residents.
Source: Soga om Flåm band II B by Svein Indrelid
More about Myrdal’s history (mainly in Norwegian):